TREKS

*Not all pictures belong to me

SBMS (also referred to the “Hippy School”) was probably and still is one of the biggest influences in my life. I had never been apart of a more loving, caring, and beautiful community in my entire life. The teachers, students and staff at Santa Barbara Middle School shaped me into who I am today. I was taught many lessons there that will stick with me forever. Although, I never realized how special that place was to me until it was over. Some things you take for granted and by the time you realize it, it’s too late. The teacher and student community at SBMS was basically just a huge family. We were all so close. The teachers actually cared about us and were there for us when we needed them. When I went through Rites of Passage in the 9th grade and graduated from SBMS, I attended Santa Barbara Senior High School the following year. The transition was very tough for me personally, although for some of my friends it wasn’t. I was not used to this kind of environment, people, and teachers. It was a whole new world to me and I needed to adjust. Even though its been almost a year since I attended SBMS, I still am not fully adjusted to my new school. I still think about my time there every day and am so grateful for the lifelong memories they have given me.

I was given so many opportunities during my 3 years at SBMS. I was taken on trips that opened my eyes to new things and made me take risks. It forced me to step out of my comfort zone. Biking for miles and miles, day by day. Over mountains and through mud and rocks.

A couple of places I visited during my SBMS experience were:

  • Santa Ynez Mountains
  • Solvang
  • Ojai
  • Monterey
  • Morro Bay
  • Oregon
  • Catalina
  • Arizona
  • Grand Canyon

The pictures above were from my last SBMS bike trip in Arizona. We spent a couple days in Canyon De Chelly, which are in most of the pictures. During my trip in Arizona, we visited many areas such as the Canyon De Chelly, the Grand Canyon, and old indian reserves. While in Canyon De Chelly, it was like stepping into a whole other world. It was so peaceful. While we we there, we had to take a hike. By ourselves. The purpose of it was to connect with nature, and notice the small beautiful things that were in the canyon. We also were not allowed to talk the whole time. I remember during that time, I listened and noticed the smallest things: the birds chirping, the wind, the millions of tiny cotton strands from the cotton trees swirling in the sky.

Without Santa Barbara Middle School, I would not be the same person I am today. I believe they molded me into a more caring, thoughtful and loving person. They truly went above and beyond to make sure each and every one of their students could try to be the best person they could be and I could never repay them for the opportunities and love they gave me!

 

Leave a Reply

